MCEDP is supported by three dedicated staff members and a Board of Directors made up of local business and community leaders who work collaboratively to facilitate economic, community and workforce development initiatives to achieve our mission.

Natalie Hawkins


Natalie joined MCEDP as the President in May 2021 after a 20-year career at the Village of Pinehurst, where she served as the Assistant Village Manager. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration and a Master of Science degree in accounting from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Natalie is a certified Project Management Professional (PMP) and a former Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

Melanie Thompson

Office Manager

Melanie joined MCEDP in August 2003 and has served as the Office Manager since that time, overseeing daily operations of the organization. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting from North Carolina Wesleyan College.

Darryn Burich

Business Development Director

Darryn joined MCEDP in February 2023 as the Business Development Director. He previously served as the Planning & Inspections Director for the Village of Pinehurst for three years after a 20-year career in the planning department at the City of Oshkosh, Wisconsin. Darryn earned a Bachelor of Science in Urban & Regional Degree Studies and Geography from the University of Wisconsin at Oshkosh and a Master of Urban Planning from the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee.

MCEDP Board Members

Our engaged and supportive Board Members oversee our operations.

Sheryl Bare

Client Relations, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Pinehurst Realty Group

Holly Bell

Carolina Summit Group

Hugh Bingham

Executive Vice President & Regional Executive, First Bank

Scott Brewton

Vice President
St. Joseph of the Pines

Taylor Clement

Town of Southern Pines

Chip Cromartie

Penick Village

Robbie Farrell

Town of Aberdeen

Mickey Foster

FirstHealth of the Carolinas

Sandee Gronowski

Vice President / Commercial Banker
First Citizens Bank

Tom Holderfield

Pinehurst Auto Group

Lin Hutaff (Treasurer)

Lin Hutaff’s Pinehurst Realty Group

Adam Kiker (Chairman)

LKC Engineering, PLLC

Bob Koontz

Koontz Jones Design

Stephen Later

Robbins May & Rich LLP

George Little (Vice Chairman)

George W. Little & Associates

Dr. Tim Locklair

Moore County Schools

Kelly Miller

President & CEO
Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club, Inc.

Pat Molamphy

NorthState Insurance & Advisors

Amy Natt

2024 Chairperson
Moore County Chamber of Commerce

Micah Niebauer

Southern Pines Brewing Company

Jim O’Malley

O’Malley Development, LLC

Linda Parsons

President & CEO
Moore County Chamber of Commerce

Tom Pashley

Pinehurst LLC

Josh Peyton

President & CEO
Veteran Golfers Association

Pat Pizzella

Village of Pinehurst

Neil Robinette

C.F. Smith Property Group

Dr. Sandy Stewart

Sandhills Community College

Donathon Stover

2024 President, Mid Carolina Regional Association of Realtors

John Taws

Fletcher Industries Inc.

Emily Tucker

District Manager, Aberdeen Region
Duke Energy

Wayne Vest

County Manager
County of Moore

Gary VonCannon

Market President

Phil Werz

President & CEO, Pinehurst, Southern Pines, Aberdeen Area Convention & Visitors Bureau 

David Woronoff

The Pilot and Business NC